About Us


Clay County Children’s Services Fund was created in 2017 following voter approval of a designated one-quarter of a cent sales tax pursuant to RSMo 67.1775 and RSMo 210.861. A 9-member board of directors appointed by the Clay County Commission administers the Fund and its operations.

The Fund provides grants to organizations offering services that protect the well-being and safety of children and youth and strengthen their families. Such services may include counseling, family support, temporary residential services, and other such services set out in RSMo 210.861.


Funding Priorities

Services cited in enabling legislation include:

  • Up to thirty days of temporary shelter for abused, neglected, runaway, homeless or emotionally disturbed youth;
  • Respite care services; and
  • Services to unwed mothers;
  • Outpatient chemical dependency and psychiatric treatment programs;
  • Counseling and related services as a part of transitional living programs;
  • Home-based and community-based family intervention programs;
  • Unmarried parent services;
  • Crisis intervention services, inclusive of telephone hotlines; and
  • Prevention programs which promote healthy lifestyles among children and youth and strengthen families;
  • Individual, group, or family professional counseling and therapy services;
  • Psychological evaluations; and
  • Mental health screenings.

Funding Restrictions:

The Fund may not be used to support the following activities:

  • Inpatient medical, psychiatric and chemical dependency services
  • Transportation services
  • Grants to individuals
  • Capital expenditures
  • Annual appeals
  • Endowments

Board of Directors


Ken Honeck, Chairman; Robert Franseen, Vice Chairman; Bruce Culley, Treasurer; John McGovern, Secretary


Allen E. Dillingham, Deb Hermann, Carrie Lonsdale, Edward O’Herin, Tom Peca

Executive Director:

Kathy Macken